Groundbreaking documentary about Alzheimer’s, the arts and science airs on New York flagship PBS station

Channel THIRTEEN, the flagship public television station of the New York City tri-state area and the most-watched public television channel in the nation, broadcasts the documentary “I Remember Better When I Paint” .

The film will be shown on Sunday, February 5, 2012 at 2:30pm, one of four public television showings coming up in the New York tri-state area.

Narrated by Academy Award winning actress Olivia de Havilland, this international documentary details innovative therapies for individuals with Alzheimer’s disease. Painting, drawing and museum visits are all seen to contribute to an improved quality of life and a restoration of some degree of memory and identity. It is a groundbreaking film that gives hope to families and patients themselves that it is possible to restore quality of life through the creative arts. Viewers will have a different perception and new understanding of those with profound memory loss.

Other broadcast dates in the New York Tri-State area are on Monday, February 6 at 10:00 pm and Saturday, February 11 at 5:00pm on channel WLIW21 and Friday, February 17 at 10:00pm on channel NJTV.

The film features a moving interview with Yasmin Aga Kahn whose mother Rita Hayworth found comfort in painting as an individual with early onset Alzheimer’s. International experts (as well as those with the disease, family members and caregivers of all ages) appear in the film. Among those experts are Dr. Butler,  founding director of the National Institute on Aging (NIH) and a Pulitzer Prize-winning author, and Dr. Samuel E. Gandy, Mount Sinai Director of Alzheimer’s Disease Research, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine.

 

 

6 Responses to “Groundbreaking documentary about Alzheimer’s, the arts and science airs on New York flagship PBS station”


  1. 1 Suzanne La Barre Tilton February 5, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    I normally do not leave reply, but this was needed – this documentary was just beyond words. Being my Mother and my loving Uncle both died of the disease and there wasn’t anything like this then. Their reactions and how they went from being so agitated to being so calm- even their breathing changed. Then in the Art Museum and that they were in their last stages of the disease and just sitting there staring into paintings then interacting. It was a real eye opener. I called my Daughter, who is a Director of Activities in a nursing home in Jackson, NJ told her to tape it tomorrow night – she will also find this incredible. Thank you for this Documentary.

    • 2 Lynn Childers February 18, 2012 at 7:53 am

      WOW Suzanne (by the way, are you related to Sherrie? (She’s pretty much my best friend)… I am a Health Care Provider, specializing in Alzheimer’s patients. I came across this wonderful show by chance last night on Channel 13, I believe, while lying in bed. I also am a painter (I do mostly landscapes) and probably about ten years ago, I had the most wonderful lady client who had dimentia/Alzheimer’s. I decided one day to bring some painting supplies to her home where I worked and she IMMEDIATELY began to speak more and seemed to just light up. Her family was amazed when I showed them her works of art. She only painted two paintings, as soon thereafter, she needed 24/7 care and was moved close to her daughter in an Assisted Living Facility. I later went to the heads of three local Assisted Living Facilities, (one, actually in Jackson where another client of mine resided) but none of them were interested in my idea of bringing Art and painting to their clients. You can imagine how amazed I was last night while I watched, mezmerized. I would still LOVE to organize some sort of program in which I would ‘teach’ those patients to paint. I also later brought supplies with me to other patients, who, all but one, absolutely came alive when painting, no matter how good or bad they were…..if your sister is interested please, ask her to ‘find’ me on facebook .. Lynn Childers. Thanks. I wish I could find where and when it will air again, as I would LOVE to record it. Also, if you reply, kindly put the name of the documentary in the subject line, as most all of my mail goes to spam unless I actually add their address to my inbox address allowance. Thanks. Lynn

  2. 3 Kaye Klassen February 6, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    When can we expect access to this film out in Arizona? We do have several artists in our family & our elders have /or have passed from the ravages of Alzhiemers. This could be very beneficial to those of us currently being caregivers.

  3. 4 irememberbetterwhenipaint February 18, 2012 at 11:57 am

    Kaye–As of right now, there are no screenings/airings scheduled in Arizona.That said, the film can be purchased on Amazon.com (http://www.amazon.com/REMEMBER-BETTER-WHEN-PAINT/dp/B003UN4CIA). Thanks for your support and enthusiasm!

  4. 5 Claudia February 26, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    My Mother-in-law who is a very lovely lady has alzheimers. What a thief who stole her memory. I saw this program and immediately was moved to tears. I spoke to my sister in law who was thrilled to view this segment. I must commend the people who took the time to let us see another side to this debilitating disease. Thanks Claudia

  5. 6 Joyce Fortner February 1, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    This was a wonderful documentary. Just reminded me of my father in an assisted living with all the activities, singing, art, etc. he was much more “outward” and expressive. Never knew he could sing….or like art.
    This is so wanted ….a must for all Alzheimer/dementia patients. Needed funding in all States.


Leave a Reply

Watch the trailer

Like us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 89 other followers


